Trakoscan Castle represents the unique cultural and historical heritage of Croatia. The castle complex consists of a manor house, castle buildings in front of the manor house and a park and forest area with a lake. Trakoscan was built at the end of the 13th century as a small fortress.
It was first mentioned in written sources in 1334. At the end of the 14th century, its owners were the Counts of Celje, and after their extinction, the manor changed many owners. In 1566, ownership was taken over by the state. King Maximilian handed over the estate to Juraj Draskovic (1525 – 1587) for his merits. In 1584, Trakoscan Castle passed into the family ownership of the Draskovic family. In the second half of the 18th century, the castle was abandoned and neglected and began to deteriorate. In the 19th century, Juraj V. Draskovic renovated the building into a representative mansion and the park into a romantic promenade. The following generations lived in the manor until 1944, when they emigrated to Austria, and shortly after that, Trakoscan Castle was nationalized.
In 1954, the museum was founded, which today has the following permanent collections - a collection of weapons, a collection of books, a collection of photographs, a collection of paintings and graphics, and a collection of furniture. The surroundings of the castle offer visitors relaxation in unspoilt nature.